Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This isn’t one about writing, but it is an Analysis/Review/Opinion Piece that I have written,so up it goes!
***
A few months ago, me and two class mates were on our lunch break and went to Gorilla Food for lunch downtown Vancouver. We walk in and Em. all of a sudden starts freaking out. She clutched at me and Martin and pulled us to the back towards the bathroom, neither of us having any idea what was going on. “I-I can’t.. Oh my god! It’s Tegan!” Both me and Martin STILL don’t know what she is talking about and ask “What?” “Where?”

“Here! Sitting here! with those people by the counter”

We still didn’t get it, Em. calmed down enough for Martin to order his food and we got out of there. Then she explained that Tegan, was part of a band called “Tegan and Sara” and that they changed her life. I now totally know what she is talking about.

That night I went home and youtube-d Tegan and Sara, and I got it. The first song I came across was Call It Off (this link will take you to the song) part of the chorus is built of:

“Maybe I would have been something you’d be good at
Maybe you would have been something I’d be good at”

For my own reasons, going through hard times with friends/lovers, it spoke to me because you never know where something could have fully gone, and as the song states “I start to wonder if this was the thing to do” . I listened to the song for weeks on repeat, and still do.

Next, I stumbled across Nineteen.

“I felt you in my life before I ever thought to,
I feel the need to lay down beside you and tell you,
I feel you in my heart, I don’t even know you.
Well now we’re saying byeeee, byeee Byee”

And it hit home like a heat wave with deep freeze icicles hidden somewhere inside. I had met a guy who graduated four months before I did and is American. Turns out student Visa’s don’t last for much longer after you graduate. We of course fell in love, rather impractically (he was leaving,  it didn’t make sense to fall in love) For at least three weeks prior to his departure I was in complete denial of the fact that I was in love with him, even though my actions were saying the opposite. So the line “I feel you in my Heart, I don’t even know you” made so much sense to me.” and I didn’t really know him all that well then. We’re dating now and I like to think I know him a little bit better.

Then came: Where does the good go

“Where do you go with your broken heart in tow?
What do you do with the leftover you
And how do you know,when to let go?
Where does the good go?
Look me in the Eye and tell me you don’t find me attractive,
Look me in the heart and tell me you won’t go,
Look me in the eye and promise no Loves like our love”

I just love every line in this song. You’re heart can break from more than just a break up, and what do you do carrying that around with you. The achey, heavy, nothing’s ever going to be good in the world again feeling. What do you do with what is left of your courage, your will, your everything that makes you feel whole?
the last three lines I interpret as things that happen when we break up with someone or one of our good friends leave, attractive could be our personality. And there’s  all these unspoken things, when you love someone  and you say “You’re the best person I’ve ever met, I’ll never leave you,  this love is like magic, well the friendship-breakup happens or the relationship breakup happens all of that surface and makes you think and say to yourself, sometimes to the other person ” But I though you would never leave me, you told me you never would.”

The two most recent ones that I am alternating between are : Northshore  I love this one because I still haven’t figured it out yet! and Here I am I just love the whole song and am choosing two section that I can pinpoint why I  love them.

“gonna take you
to the end of tomorrow
I will take you
to the end of my world”

Its both a statement of “I’ll never give you up without a fight, I’m going to show you all I am” and a warning.

“it’s not just you
she loved me too”

When someone dies, or leaves us, more than one person is effected

They have 6 albums plus a demo full of awesome songs,  both openly gay and are Canadian born. If you don’t know of them already check them out, they’ll have at least one song that speaks to you in some way.

Visit their Official Site

